Tennessee and Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving break, I had the opportunity to accompany my father on his usual trip, though stopping at Tennessee for me. His routes span from California to New York, and takes about a week to go from one side of the country to the other and back. He’s completed the journey approximately 22 times a year for the past 22 years now. This past semester, I’ve spent more time in the library than I did at home, which did put a slight strain on my relationship with my parents. I hardly saw them, and when I would have a few days off of school, I would most likely be on an airplane flying to my next destination to explore more places. With a few days on the road with my father, we had some time to talk and catch up about life. Of course, we discussed issues on current events both in America and Romania, politics, guns, God, and I even ventured to ask about his life growing up in Romania, which I know is not an easy topic to discuss with anyone who grew up in a communist country. Without revealing too much personal information, simply put, I am proud of the person he has become from where he has been.

Thanksgiving and Tennessee, in my opinion, go hand in hand with the other. With Thanksgiving comes about the aura of family, cold weather, and leaves holding on to their last bit of strength to the trees which sprouted them. People pull out their scarves, beanies, mittens, boots, and pumpkin spice lattes, while pumpkin bread and muffins bake in the oven and lastly light the fireplace to finish the opening of a beautiful setting making way for a colder season to enter. Thanksgiving in a Romanian household is pretty typical to that of an American household, or so I believe. Romanians in general, though especially my family, are plentiful in people, food, and conversation regarding anything in life.

What I love most about Tennessee is the family there. With open arms, they welcome in more family even if they are have 13 kids between two households. My life with my family is something I treasure greatly. Have you ever seen My Big Fat Greek Wedding? Now imagine that, but with twice the number of cousins the main character Toula had (there were 27 first cousins). I love my family and I would not trade any of them for a husband in the world (which means more than the world in Romanian life).

Leave a Reply

